The focus of Your Home School Tutor is English and Mathematics Foundation to Year 6.

The Australian National Curriculum is consulted.

The aim of this review is to give parents the BIG PICTURE of the curriculum and the structure and content for English and Mathematics. They are given top priority in Foundation to Year 2.

The Australian National Curriculum resulted from consultation with all states and territories.

Australian Schools have the following year levels.

•        Foundation (First)

•        Years 1-2

•        Years 3-4

•        Years 5-6

•        Years 7-8

•        Years 9-10

Years 11 and 12 are not included in this review.

What is the Australian Curriculum intended to do?

Its focus is to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals as well as active and informed citizens.

What students learn is presented sequentially.

There are EIGHT Learning Areas.

A few areas contain a number of subjects.

Each Learning Area contains:

  1. Content Descriptions The detailed knowledge, understanding and skills to be taught at each year or across a number of years.
  2. General Capabilities are the skills and abilities each student needs to master to learn, live and work in the 21st century.

Seven general capabilities are outlined.

1.      Literacy Information and Information

2.      Numeracy Information and Communication 

3.      Technology (ICT) Capability

4.      Critical and Creative Thinking

5.      Personal and Social Capability

6.      Ethical Understanding

7.      Intercultural Understanding

  • Achievement Standards The level of understanding and depth of knowledge and skill the students in each year level or band of years are expected to reach after teaching and learning in the classroom.

Home school parents in Australia are expected to plan and implement their child’s education in line with the Australian National Curriculum plus any state-specific variations.


In the Early Years (Foundation to Year 2) literacy and numeracy are given top priority. These are the foundations for further learning.

During Years 3 to 6, the focus moves more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.

Keeping accurate records of your child’s progression is imperative.


The learning areas with subjects.

Humanities and Social Sciences

include the subjects of:

History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business

The Arts

include the subjects of

Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts


includes Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies

Languages: Students have a choice of 15 languages

Cross-curriculum priorities are

  1. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Histories and Culture.
  2. Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia
  3. Sustainability

These priorities are built across the curriculum to allow students to connect the content of learning areas.

How does the Australian Curriculum support the unique needs and interests of each student?

  • The curriculum is used by teachers to plan instruction in ways that consider the needs and interests of students.
  • The curriculum is flexible. It encourages schools and teachers to personalise student learning.
  • The Australian National Curriculum website is the resource to find out how to use the curriculum to cater for students with a disability, gifted and talented students and students not having English as their mother tongue.

The National Assessment Program (NAPLAN) is undertaken in

Years 3, 5, 7, 9. The literacy and numeracy skills of students are tested. The tests are not compulsory.

Children who are home school are not mandated to participate in NAPLAN.

The outline of the Australian National Curriculum English and Mathematics Learning Areas are outlined and discussed in the Monthly Activity Planner.

In-depth knowledge of the Australian National Curriculum enables you to plan a curriculum that best suits your child's needs as well as ensuring he or she receives the education that prepares them for the future.